Federal Administrative Law Research
I. Administrative Materials
Administrative materials encompass those primary materials
emanating from the executive branch of government and its
administrative agencies. They consist of agency rules/regulations,
agency decisions and adjudications, presidential documents &
executive orders, proposed rules, notices (i.e.,
announcements of procedural requirements and/or agency housekeeping
matters), and notices of Sunshine Act meetings.
II. Regulations
A. The first administrative agency, the Interstate
Commerce Commission was established in 1887. Agencies grew, because
the need for regulation was greater than established units of
government could handle due to the administration of new social and
economic laws (initially as a result of New Deal legislation).
Agencies interpret and apply their governing statutes to create
highly detailed rules/regulations which give specific content to
statutory intent and provide procedures for implementation and
enforcement. They often implement statutory provisions, and judicial
opinions often clarify their meaning and/or determine their validity.
B. Publication of Regulations
1. Industrialization and New Deal legislation greatly
expanded the amount of agency business, but there was no systematic
method of publication. Hundreds of executive orders, thousands of
regulations, and tens of thousands of pages of other legal documents
were issued with no standard method of publication and hence no
access.
2. Two cases concerning New Deal regulations of the oil industry
caused pressure for reform. They were based on provisions revoked
even before the lawsuits commenced. They proceeded through the courts
with no one aware of the regulatory change. Chief Justice Hughes was
highly dissatisfied. The furor resulted in the Federal Register Act
of 1935.
3. The Federal Register was to be a central repository for
publication of federal proclamations, orders, regulations, notices
and other documents of general legal applicability to include the
following:
a. Presidential proclamations and executive orders
b. Documents the President determines to be of general legal
applicability & legal effect.
c. Documents required by Act of Congress to be published.
4. Publication in the Federal Register constitutes constructive
notice of its contents to parties affected by a regulation.
5. Publication is analogous to the Statutes at Large and
the United States Code. There are two basic formats: one is
chronological, and one is topical.
C. Sources
1. Federal Register (FR)
a. Publication of material is in the following order:
Presidential documents/executive orders
Rules/regulations
Proposed rules (including texts and notices of hearings)
Notices (announcements of procedural & agency housekeeping
matters)
Notices of Sunshine Act meetings.
b. Arrangement within each section of the FR is by the title of
the CFR in which it will eventually appear.
c. Each year constitutes a volume of the FR with continuous
pagination throughout the year.
d. Though the texts of final rules appear in the CFR, most other
material in the FR never appears elsewhere (i.e., proposed
rules, agency policy statements, discussion of comments received, and
descriptive statements on agency organization). Therefore it has
permanent reference value.
e. Access is through several indexes, tables, and computer
databases.
2. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
a. Subject arrangement of fifty titles somewhat
analogous to the U.S. Code, though they do not always match. Within
each title, regulations are arranged by agency, rather than subject.
Titles are divided into chapters (each for a
particular agency). Chapters are divided into parts,
each representing an agency's regs on a particular topic or agency
function. Parts are divided into sections, the
basic unit of the CFR. Sections are simple
presentations of single propositions.
b. Currently the CFR
consists of about 200 volumes, which are revised on a quarterly
basis.
Titles 1-16 contain regs in force as of January 1.
Titles 17-27 contain regs in force as of April 1.
Titles 28-41 contain regs in force as of July 1.
Titles 42-50 contain regs in force as of October 1.
Therefore a current set will usually contain volumes of at least
two different colors, because one year's edition only gradually
replaces the previous one.
c. Each part begins with an authority note
showing the statutory authority under which the agency promulgated
such regs. A Source note follows, showing the
citation and date in which the part was last published in the FR in
full. This is important, because it is here in the preamble of a rule
that a summary and background material may appear.
d. Title 3 = texts of proclamations, executive orders, and other
presidential documents. Title 3 of the CFR does not
cumulate. Each year contains only the presidential communications
from that specific year.
e. The Index and Finding Aids volume is updated each
year.
3. Looseleaf Services: most looseleaf services are subject
specific. Labor, tax, employment, environment and securities are all
highly regulated areas with more than one looseleaf publication.
Looseleaf services contain regulations relevant to a topical area,
and are often the best place to search for new regulations and
administrative decisions.
4. LEXIS and WESTLAW: Both the CFR and the Federal
Register are available online. The House of Representatives Law
Library on the Web has both the CFR and the Federal Register -
http://law.house.gov
III. Finding regulations
A. Indexes : Federal Register
1. Official -- Federal Register Index is
published monthly & each month cumulates all previous months of
the that year since the January index volume.
- Table of contents by agency name in each issue.
- Finding aids at end of each issue.
- Cumulative list of CFR parts affected during the current month
at the end of each issue.
2. Unofficial -- CIS Federal Register Index has been
published weekly since 1984. It usually appears within 2 or 3 weeks
of the period covered.
B. Indexes : Code of Federal Regulations
1. Official -- The Index and Finding Aids
volume provides references to Parts, so indexing is not as specific
as it could be. It's "terse" and difficult to use. The idea is that
the researcher will then refer to more detailed tables of contents in
the individual titles and chapters volumes of the CFR.
2. Unofficial -- CIS provides much more extensive indexing.
Index to the Code of Federal Regulations (starts 1981).
C. Table of statutes
A "Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules" in the Index and
Finding Aids volume provides access to regulations when one has
a citation to either a statute or a presidential document under the
authority of which regulations may have been promulgated. It lists
every statute or presidential document cited by an agency as
authority for its rules.
D. USC, USCA and USCS provide cross references
to CFR cites.
E. Online -- CFR is available on both WESTLAW and LEXIS and on the
Internet.
F. Looseleaf services usually have detailed indexing systems that
enable you to search for regulations and updates from the Federal
Register.
IV. Updating Regulations
A. List of Sections Affected (LSA) -- 1st
step -- lists FR pages of any new or proposed rules affecting the
Code. Coverage reflects back to last revision of each title. Dates
covered for each title will vary. NOTE:
Because LSA cumulates every month, it is necessary to examine only
the most recent pamphlet to find changes since the last CFR revision.
(be sure to check the date on the front cover).
B. Federal Register -- 2nd step -- similar list
(i.e., List of CFR Parts Affected in January) must be
examined in the last FR issue of each month not covered by the LSA.
C. Beyond administrative materials to judicial decisions.
Shepard's Code of Federal Regulations Citations -- best
source for checking on judicial treatment of rules. It also covers
presidential proclamations, executive orders, and reorganization
plans.
D. History of regulations
1. Source notes in CFR
2. Preamble in Federal Register
V. Administrative Decisions
A. Agency Decisions
1. Official Publications
Published by the Government Printing office. Not always timely or
well-indexed, but often the only source available. Many are now also
available online.
2. Unofficial Publications
Commercial, looseleaf services, WESTLAW and LEXIS
B. Judicial Review of Agency Decisions
1. West's Digest System-- by topic and key number.
2. Shepards
3. Looseleaf Services
4. WESTLAW and LEXIS
Return to Guides and Help Sheets Index