I. Introduction
A. Bills are introduced into Congress, then sent to
committee, and if eventually passed and signed by the President,
become law and are then codified.
B. Codification is the process of taking enacted
legislation, breaking it up into parts and arranging the parts by
subject.
C. Statutes are important because, like case law, they are primary
authority. Courts are bound to follow a statute unless it is found to
be unconstitutional.
II. Statutory Publication Patterns Generally
A. After a bill is introduced, it is assigned a bill
number (usually designating whether it is a House or Senate Bill).
Bills are available from the government, often in microfiche, and can
be obtained from the legislators who sponsored the bill.
B. Laws first appear separately as slip laws put out by the
government (usually in pamphlet format). Each law is consecutively
numbered as it is passed.
C. Separate slip laws are gathered together in the order in which
they were issued for each legislative session and published as
session laws. Session laws are usually several volumes with
subject indexes and tables.
D. Session laws are also codified, revised or compiled (edited and
rearranged topically) for easier access and published in sets called
revised (or recompiled) statutes or
codes. These sets use numbering schemes
(different from the session laws) which reflect their subject
arrangement. They also present notes on the historical
development of each law. Codes are indexed and kept up to date by
supplements. They also provide tables that indicate how to get from a
session law to a code cite.
E. Statutes and codes are usually republished by commercial
publishers in annotated form. These annotated codes
are very valuable because, in addition to the text of the laws and
history notes, they provide abstracts of judicial opinions construing
and applying the statutes and references to law review articles and
other sources commenting on the statutes. Also, because they are
updated frequently and usually provide the text of recently enacted
slip laws, researchers rely heavily on them.
III. Federal Statutory Publications
A. Bills. Current Bills are published in microfiche.
Bills are assigned either an H.R. or H.J. Res. number or an S. or
S.J. Res. number. This number stays with the bill until it is passed
or until the end of the Congress in which it was enacted. Be certain
to pinpoint the Congress and session along with the bill number. A
finding index (Cumulative Finding Aid) is provided along
with the microfiche. Example: S. 2830, 96th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1980). The full-text of bills are also available online on
LEXIS, and on the Internet in various places.
B. Slip Laws. Slip laws are officially published by the Government
Printing Office (GPO). Each law is assigned a law number reflecting
the Congress and the sequential order in which it was passed.
Example: Pub. L. 103 - 233, is the 233rd law passed in the
103rd Congress. Each is published initially as a pamphlet.
However, unless one can procure a copy through representatives in
Congress, these publications are distributed too late to be very
useful. Most researchers rely instead on commercial looseleaf
services, online services, or the update services provided with the
annotated codes for the text of very recent federal legislation.
C. Session Laws
1. Statutes at Large. Also published by the
government (usually well after the session covered), these volumes
contain the official text of public and private laws passed by each
session of Congress. Laws appear in chronological order by the law
number they were assigned by Congress. There may be several volumes
for each session with the same volume number and consecutive
pagination. Tables to earlier laws and to the U.S. Code as
well as topical indexes, are provided for each session. Citation
example: National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, Pub. L. No.
91-190, 83 Stat. 852 (1970).
2. U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News. This
commercially published service reprints the text of new laws in
monthly pamphlets which are reissued in bound form at the close of
each session of Congress. The laws appear in chronological order
according to law number and are accompanied by selected legislative
history as well as indexes and tables.
3. Advance Services. Both U.S.C.A. and U.S.C.S.
publish monthly supplements which include the new public laws.
D. Statutes and Codes
1. Revised Statutes. These sets were
published in 1875 and 1878 and represent the first cumulative
codification of federal law (cumulative from 1789). No other
codifications were published until the U.S. Code appeared.
2. United States Code (U.S.C.). Since 1926, this
has been the official codification of federal law. Currently, it
appears every six years, with annual cumulative supplements in the
intervening years. The most current code is the 1994 version, with
annual supplements. Laws are arranged in 50 broad subject categories
called "titles." Each edition includes indexes and tables. Although
it is the authoritative code, its supplementation appears too slowly
to make it a useful research tool. Citation example: 42 U.S.C. §
1311 (1994).
E. Annotated codes
1. United States Code Annotated
(U.S.C.A.) (West Publishing). This unofficial work reprints
the text of the U.S.C. and follows its numbering scheme, but
it offers additional features which make it superior to the
U.S.C. as a research tool. It provides exhaustive summaries
of court decisions construing the law, and references to texts and
law review articles commenting and explaining the law. In addition,
it is supplemented on a monthly (new legislation) and quarterly (new
court annotations) basis and provides annual cumulative supplements.
The indexing and statutory tables are also excellent. Citation
example: 42 U.S.C.A. § 1311 (West 1991).
2. United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.) (Lawyers
Co-op). This unofficial work also uses the same topical numbering
scheme as the U.S.C. (although it follows the text of the
Statutes at Large). Just as the preceding work, it provides
excellent research aids such as abstracts of significant cases
construing the law and references to other research sources, monthly
session law updates, quarterly court updates, and annual cumulative
supplements. A very helpful volume includes annotations to Uncodified
Laws and Treaties. Indexing and statutory cross referencing are also
superior to the U.S.C. Citation example: 42 U.S.C.S. §
1311 (Law. Co-op. 1986).
IV. How to Find Statutory Law
A. Popular Name Approach
The codes all provide access through popular name. Shepard's
Acts and Cases by Popular Names cites both to session laws and
codified laws. U.S.C., U.S.C.A., U.S.C.S. all have separate
popular name indexes.
B. Bill Number Approach
Use when only the bill number is known (generally for very recent
legislation). Tables in the session law sources generally provide the
official law number for bills that become law. For federal law, check
in the CCH Congressional Index. Online services also provide
references from bill numbers to the law numbers.
C. Session Law Approach
When the session law citation (either the Pub. Law #, or the Stat.
cite) is known, it is possible to find the subsequent codified
citation using statutory tables in the annotated codes. Also, the
text of the session law itself refers to the sections of the code
which will be affected (i.e., where the text of the law
eventually will appear), usually noted along the margins. The text of
the session law also provides the bill number at the beginning of the
law. It is possible for the session law to remain uncodified. Check
in U.S.C.S.'s volume Notes to Uncodified Laws and Treaties.
D. Subject Approach
This approach is the most time-consuming and should be used when
none of the methods above can be used. Use the indexes found in each
of the sources described earlier in this outline. The most
comprehensive and detailed indexes are found in the commercially
published annotated codes. Frequently, citations are given in
secondary sources (e.g., treatises, law review articles,
etc.)
E. Code Section Approach
When the citation to a code section is known, it is possible to
find the citation to the original session law (and any subsequent
amendments) in the history note to that code
section. This is useful when trying to locate the positive law
source.
V. How to Update Statutory Law
A. Use the annotated codes if possible (they have the
most up to date supplementation).
1. First check the bound volume and any
supplementation to it (pocket part or separate pamphlet).
2. Check the supplements to the U.S.C.S. and
U.S.C.A., usually found at the very end of each set.
3. If the latest supplement is more than a month old, be sure to
check:
a. USCCAN. This will give all recent
legislation up to the present date. Includes a Table of code sections
affected. References will be given to the session law and pamphlet
containing the change.
b. Online. Both WESTLAW and LEXIS contain the text of new Public
Laws. On WESTLAW you can update a code cite by typing
update while viewing a particular code section.
B. Shepardizing. Shepard's will lead you to cases
interpreting your code section, as well as list any amendments. Since
the text of a law stays in the U.S.C. until it is repealed,
the most important reason to Shepardize a code cite will be to find
out if the law has been declared unconstitutional by a court.
VI. Pending Legislation
A. CCH Congressional Index
B. WESTLAW -- Bills
C. LEXIS -- Bills
D. Web -- http://thomas.loc.gov
Return to Guides and Help Sheets Index
|