Getting Started
- Foreign Law Guide (FLG)
A database that indexes foreign legislation by country and subject. Includes overviews of legal systems, citations to English translations where available, and select references to secondary sources. - GlobaLex
A collection of country-specific and comparative foreign legal research guides. Includes overviews of legal systems and places to find relevant primary and secondary sources (including English translations where available).
Other Places to Look
- Library of Congress, Guide to Law Online: Nations
A website listing most of the nations of the world, containing links to primary laws and research guides. - WorldLII
Free access to worldwide laws. Also contains regional databases that are particularly good: UK materials (BAILII) and Asian-Pacific jurisdictions (AsianLII and PacLII). Search by selecting "All Countries" on the left-side navigation tool, then clicking on the individual country.
Other Libraries
Research guides created by other universities can be useful for finding foreign materials. You may, however, encounter resources restricted to those universities. When that happens, try searching for the resource in our catalog, checking our A-Z database list, or contacting a librarian.
- Boston University Law Library Guides "Foreign Law"Extensive list of countries with links to government sites, WorldLII and other free sources.
- Oxford University LibGuides: Resources for JurisdictionsThis guide is particularly useful for European countries.
- University of Melbourne Library Guides by SubjectStrong coverage of Asian and Oceana countries. Under "Guides by Subject Area" select the subject "Law."
Research Help
We're here to help. Contact a research librarian for help with an assignment, project, or resource.
Hours:
Mon-Fri, 11am-4pm
503-768-6688
lawlib@lclark.edu
Reference Hours
Find Guides on Google
Follow this formula to Google guides on your topic:
[subject] + legal or law + research guide
For example, searching for "International Animal law research guide" yields Georgetown's International and Foreign Animal Law Research Guide.
